Separation of Powers

\* As a way to <u>limit</u> the power of government, the Constitution grants some powers to the federal (<u>national</u>) government and saves some powers for the <u>state</u> governments. There are some powers that are <u>shared</u> by both the federal and state governments. If a power is not specifically given to the federal government, then it is saved for the states or the <u>people</u>. Another way in which the Constitution creates a limited government is through the separation of powers among three <u>branches</u>.

Page 4



Checks and Balances

\* Besides separating the powers among <u>three</u> branches, the Constitution also sets ways in which one <u>branch</u> can check the other two. These checks help to balance <u>power</u>.